Books We’re Reading: One Last Ride with “The Catcher in the Rye”

Another 9th grader’s thoughts on the end of Catcher in the Rye. Such a great 180 degree turn from what she wanted for an ending and what she came to understand. Is it me, or is that just the best kind of understanding? The best reaction to a text that any teacher could want, ’cause I didn’t tell her to think that way, she came to it herself.

The Concept Garden

“It was the first time she ever told me to shut up. It sounded terrible. God, it sounded terrible. It sounded worse than swearing. She still wouldn’t look at me either, and every time I sort of put my hand on her shoulder or something, she wouldn’t let me.” – J.D. Salinger, Catcher in the Rye

Disclaimer: This post is all about the ending of The Catcher in the Rye. If you haven’t finished it yet while reading along with us, I’d suggest finishing up first. Thank you!

As every book must end, I’ve just read the last pages on The Catcher in the Rye not too long ago. But I’ve sat on the ending for a bit now, a few days, pondering what I’ve witnessed and if I’m truly satisfied with the ending.

And I’ll be honest with you- at first, I really wasn’t.  I was… irritated by…

View original post 730 more words

