A Vision of Education’s Future: Time is not an Arrow

I’m trying to keep up with the amazing George Couros and the MOOC for his book, The Innovator’s Mindset.  I attempted his 1st MOOC, back in the fall of 2016 (see here), failed, and so I’m picking up here on the new #IMMOOC: prompt #3:  Three blog posts of 200 or less words.

Prompt #1:  Discuss your “vision” for education

I think I answered this question on my the comprehensives for my Masters in 1994.  Seems we’re all still searching for the Radical, Inquiry-driven innovations of Postman and Weingartner’s  60s. Luckily, I think we’ve finally caught them, and Dewey at the same time.

My vision is not forward thinking, not dripping with tech (though enabled by it), not seeking the latest “Best Practice” that is only ever a repackaging of former method.  (I do not discount Cognitive Science or its growing impact on education.  That’s a post for another day.)  My vision is a classroom of empowered learners, questioning, collaborating, constructing,  exploring, and dreaming a future we cannot know.  Dewey had us here, As did P&W above.

Back to the future?  Perhaps, for time is not an arrow.

Adobe Spark (4)

 

